In this article:
You have created your skills assessment and invited candidates - so what's next?
Candidates who are interested in your open role will apply by completing the skills assessment and once they do you will receive notification of their progress in your assessment dashboard.
In the image above, notice the candidate's status, their predicted score, and the option to "Grade Manually".
Other applicants may have just started the assessment but have not completed it yet, there status will detail when their assessment expires. For candidates that have not started the assessment their status will read "Invitation received". Candidates have 4 days to complete a assessment.
Candidates receive email reminders before the assessment expires. If the time expires, they will have an option to request more time through their candidate dashboard. You will receive an in-app notification of the request so you can decide to reset or not. If you reset the assessment, they will receive a notice by email updating them of the additional 4 days they have to complete the assessment.
Grading a Candidate
In your assessment results view, click on a candidate name. The card will expand just like the image below.
If the predicted score has had enough time to calculate, you will see the predicted score displayed on the candidate card, along with the skills assessed in your skills assessment. The skills will be color ranked based on predicted score.
Click on the blue button that says "Score Responses" to view their responses for the assessment.
A new window will open like below. Where you can choose to assign a numerical score to the candidate's response.
This particular question above requires you to subjectively grade the question. All of the assessments found in the public assessment library include a suggested answer to help you grade the responses.
Once you are done grading the answers, click on the X to close the window.
The candidate's score will now appear in their card .
Depending on their performance you can decide to Reject or leave them in your assessment view.
If you click Reject, you will get a pop up confirmation window. Make sure to only reject the candidate if you are absolutely sure.
Once you reject them it cannot be undone. The candidate will receive a rejection email once you confirm if you have this setting enabled.
Team Member Scoring
Team members can grade each candidate independently. The initial icon of each team member who has scored the assessment will appear in the candidate card they have graded.
When grading the questions, an image icon of team member who submitted a score will appear next to the score on the top right corner of the question and the average score from all team members will be shown for that question. The average overall score will be displayed on the candidate card under "My Score".
You can add comments in every candidate card. If you have team members collaborating in the hiring process, you can each add your thoughts in the comments section.
Please note: Comments are not visible to candidates.
Sharing the Candidate Card
If you would like to share a candidate card with someone in your company that is not on your account, you can create a public link to share. Click on the share button under the candidate’s contact information and you can select "Copy Link" to add the shareable link to your clipboard.
Employers on the Growth plan and above will also have the option to hide existing scores, completion times, and suggested answers by clicking on the toggle button and then "Copy Link". This will generate a different link that will allow guest scoring and hide candidate details.
Please refer to this article for more detail on guest scoring and sharing candidate cards.
Extending a Skills Assessment Deadline
All candidates are given 4 days to complete the assessment. An email reminder is sent 48 hours before the expiration.
If the time expires, candidates have an option to request more time from their candidate dashboard. If they request more time, you will receive a notification letting you know that extra time has been requested. You can extend their deadline by expanding their candidate card and selected, "Extend Deadline" or in your assessment candidate's list by click on the corresponding three dot menu and selecting "Extend".
If you decide to extend the assessment, the candidate will receive an email notification with an additional 4 days to complete.
To Extend the assessment deadline for candidates before the candidate submits the assessment: find there name in your assessment's candidate list and select the corresponding three dots next to the candidate's name. Then choose the option to, "Extend".
Resetting Skills Assessments
Employers also have the option to reset assessments after they are submitted. Go to your assessment results tab and find the name of the candidate that you want to reset. Select the three dot menu next to their name and choose the "Extend" option.
Candidate's answers will be saved, and the invitation email will be resent to candidates allowing them access to the assessment.
The amount of time it took a candidate to complete the assessment and how long they took to respond to each question can be viewed when scoring candidate responses.
Emails sent to candidates
Emails sent to candidates automatically can be previewed and customized once you click into your assessment, navigate to the "Create" tab, and then select the "Candidate Experience" tab. Then choose, "Edit and Preview Email".
If you would like to customize your messages please make sure to do this before inviting candidates to apply. Please read our article on sending emails to candidates here.